Being called “a girl” by kids

28 04 2010

I laughed so hard when I read the newest blog article of one of my favorite writers Jesse Archer about him baby-sitting the 3 kids of his friends. The article is really funny and you can read it on jesseonthebrink.com.He said it was funny that with young kids gender roles are already so defined. He was called a girl by 4 and 5-year-old girls. I had the same experience yesterday. I took some kids of my nephew’s class to the museum because parents did not have time and even though it was a lot of fun I was called a girl by the 2 Muslim kids( boy and girl) in my car. I dunno if that is because I am so gay or because the role models in their culture are so masculine. The other kids did not say that so…. Still thought it was funny though. Until I was 12 I was never called a girl at school even though I was really girly. Later on at school I was, even though I was not nearly as girly anymore. Maybe kids pick up on that earlier now.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

